Ramanathaswamy rameswaram.



st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }
<!– /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:””; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} /* List Definitions */ @list l0 {mso-list-id:1485508821; mso-list-type:hybrid; mso-list-template-ids:-700829972 67698705 67698713 67698715 67698703 67698713 67698715 67698703 67698713 67698715;} @list l0:level1 {mso-level-text:”%1\)”; mso-level-tab-stop:.5in; mso-level-number-position:left; text-indent:-.25in;} @list l1 {mso-list-id:1690250741; mso-list-type:hybrid; mso-list-template-ids:958452184 -754955310 67698713 67698715 67698703 67698713 67698715 67698703 67698713 67698715;} @list l1:level1 {mso-level-text:”%1\)”; mso-level-tab-stop:39.0pt; mso-level-number-position:left; margin-left:39.0pt; text-indent:-.25in;} ol {margin-bottom:0in;} ul {margin-bottom:0in;} –>

/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;


Rameswaram existence is believed since “Thretha” Yuga as per Hindu religious theory.

In Hinduism four ancient temples are considered as four pillars of nation’s foundation.

Those are “Puri” in east, “Dwaraka” in west, “Badrinath” in north and “Rameswaram” in south.

The main temple present in Rameswaram is “Ramanatha swamy temple”.

Rameswaram is one of the twelve “Jothir” lingams.

The name of the God is “Sri Ramanatha swamy” and that of Goddess is “Parvathavarthini Amman”.

Rameswaram is both Shavian and Vaishnava kshetra.

In this temple there is also a “Sri Rama sannithy” near Ramanatha swamy shrine and “Pallikonda perumal” located at the back of Parvathavarthini shrine.

This ancient temple is located on the shores of sea.

People from all parts of India come here for worshipping the God.


Sri Rama” by worshipping Siva lingam got relived from the heinous sins of having killed “Ravana”.

So the presiding deity of this temple is known as “Ramanathaswamy” and the island known as “Rameswaram”.

The temple of Rameswaram stands for our culture, religion & philosophy.

To get rid of “Brahmahatya” the maharishies advised Sri Rama to perform pooja by installing “Siva linga”.

Sri Rama sent “Anjaneya” to kailash to fetch a linga from “Lord Shiva”, but he could not come on time for establishing the Siva linga for pooja.

So “Sita devi” started to set up a linga made of “Sand”, she established and performed pooja for that lingam.

At that time Anjaneya returned from kailash with lingams.

He was furious by seeing the linga installed by Sita Devi and wanted to uproot that lingam, but his efforts went in vain.

By seeing this Sri Rama ordered that pooja should be first performed to the linga brought by “Sri Anjaneya”, which made Anjaneya satisfied.

The major share of credit should be given to “Sethupathy rajahs” of ramanathapuram, who developed the construction of the temple by building “Sanctorum” and “Mandapams”.

The architecture stands out as typical Dravidian style.

Mandapams and sannithis are built according to “Pandya nadu tradition”.

Third corridor:

The world famous moonam prakaram (Third corridor) is built in the 18th century by “Sri Muthuramlinga Sethupathi” the king of ramanathapuram, is the longest corridor in the world.

It is made up of 1212 stone pillars & roof top is painted beautifully.

The measurements of the corridor are as follows: Inner side: East-west: 649 feet south-north: 395 feet. Height: 22 feet 7.5 inches.


Rameswaram contains many sacred Theerthams each one associated with some gods or saints.

There are 22 Theerthams in different parts of the temple. They are in the form of wells.

The names of this Theerthams are as follows,

1) Maha lakshmi Theertham.

2) Savithri Theertham.

3) Gayathri Theertham.

4) Saraswathy Theertham.

5) Sethumadava Theertham.

6) Gandhamadava Theertham.

7) Gavaksha Theertham.

8) Gavaya Theertham.

9) Nala Theertham.

10) Neela Theertham.

11) Sanku Theertham.

12) Chakra Theertham.

13) Brahmahatta vimochana Theertham.

14) Soorya Theertham.

15) Chandra Theertham.

16) Ganga Theertham.

17) Yamuna Theertham.

18) Gaya Theertham.

19) Siva Theertham.

20) Satyamrita Theertham.

21) Sarva Theertham.

22) Kodi Theertham.

Bath in these Theerthams will purify us and will have spiritual effect.

They too have medicinal properties.

Beside these Theerthams within the temple there are 31 Theerthams in and around Rameswaram. Important Theerthams among these are as follows,

1) Lakshmana Theertham.

2) Rama Theertham.

3) Sita Theertham.

4) Jadayu Theertham.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s